Birmingham: Cherry Red’s

on

121841443

9th June marked the halfway point through my university exams, yay! This called for celebration and lunch out at Cherry Red’s, somewhere I had been wanting to try for weeks because it’s independent charm appealed to me whenever I walked past it.

The cafe/bar/restaurant is in a good location near the back of New Street station and so not too far from the shops and city centre. It wasn’t too busy so we settled at a large table upstairs – we were very indecisive and had already swapped from the downstairs seats, to the sofas, to the tables upstairs! You order at the bar from an extensive menu of all day breakfasts, burgers, small sharing plates and sandwiches. I chose the Big Red Pancake Breakfast (£9.50) which, brace yourselves, included 2 pork sausages, 2 bacon rashers, scrambled egg & hash brown piled on a stack of pancakes with an extra jug of maple syrup. Definitely happy with my choice it tasted so so good though I don’t even want to think about the calories or fats in all that food. But hey, I was celebrating!

img_0404.jpg

My boyfriend chose the Big Red Beef Burger (£12) with bacon, cheese, BBQ sauce and beer battered onion rings with gherkins. Again this was a rather large portion which is good. He said the beef was quite tough and probably not the best quality meat and the onion rings were a little on the soggy side but overall it was a yummy meal. He admitted that next time he would probably choose the Big Red Pancake Breakfast because mine looked so good!

Although we went at midday-ish I would love to go back one evening when the place turns into a bar and there are often events like live music and stand-up comedy. Partly because I think I would enjoy a more lively atmosphere and partly because I noticed they serve boozy milkshakes on the menu! I noticed they did a Cherry Bomb (Cherry spiced Old J rum with coconut), Night sky mocha (Kahlua, caramel, chocolate) and Bourbon Vanilla Cream (Buffalo trace bourbon in vanilla shake with whipped cream).

Hopefully I’ll go back sometime soon because I’d love to try some of the sharing platters or, if I go for an evening, I’d be all over those boozy milkshakes and beers on tap.

If you want to drool over the menu like I am currently doing, follow this link: MENU or head straight there and drool over the luxurious looking chocolate and rainbow cakes instead – vegan options too!

Enjoy!

Love Maisie xxx

Leave a Reply

